TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Dolly Parton, John Glover, Judy Kaye, Sharon Lawrence Among LADCCC Nominees

Dolly Parton
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Nominations have been announced for the 40th Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards, to be held on Monday, March 16 at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood. The awards will be hosted by Vicki Lewis and Wenzel Jones, and will feature appearances by Mary Jo Catlett, Loretta Devine, Maripat Donovan, Betty Garrett, and Camille Saviola, among others.

Shows with multiple nominations include As U Like It (Troubadour Theatre Company), Gem of the Ocean (Fountain Theatre), Louis & Keely: Live at the Sahara (Sacred Fools Theatre); Long Days Journey into Night (Theatricum Botanicum); Anything (Elephant Theatre Company); Kiss of the Spider Woman (Havok Theatre Company), and Lovelace: A Rock Opera (Hayworth Theatre).

Among the more prominent nominees are composer Dolly Parton and choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler for their work on the Broadway-bound musical 9 to 5, playwright Athol Fugard for Victory, composer-lyricist Michael Friedman for Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, and actors John Glover (Secrets of the Trade), Judy Kaye (Sweeney Todd), JD Cullum (Don Juan), and Sharon Lawrence (Orson's Shadow).

Special awards will be given to playwright EM Lewis, lighting designer Lisa D. Katz, director Nick DeGruccio, the Sacred Fools Theatre Company, and the Los Angeles Women's Shakespeare Company.

For tickets and other information, visit

Tagged in this Story