TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Andy Blankenbuehler, Charlayne Woodard Win Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards

Charlayne Woodard in The Night Watcher
(© James Leynse)
The winners of the 2011 Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards have been announced. The prizes were presented in a ceremony held on March 19 at A Noise Within in Pasadena.

Among the winners are Sam Anderson, Anne Gee Byrd, L. Scott Caldwell, Edi Gathegi, and Lisa O'Hare, all of whom received Lead Performance Awards. In addition, Featured Performance prizes have been given to Anne Gee Byrd, Dermot Crowley, Deidrie Henry, and Casey Kramer.

A Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Ensemble Award has been given to the company of A Raisin in the Sun, produced by Ebony Repertory Theatre, which, along with Reprise Theatre Company's Cabaret and Theatre Banshee's The Crucible, received a McCulloh Award for Revival. The ensemble of Margo Veil, produced by The Odyssey Theatre Ensemble and Evidence Room, also received an award and the production, with Rogue Machine's Small Engine Repair, received a prize for best production..

Other award winners include Tom Dugan and Charlayne Woodard, who have won Solo Performance Awards for Nazi Hunter and The Night Watcher, respectively; Andy Blankenbuehler who has won an award for his choreography for Bring It On The Musical; and David Harrower and John Pollono, who have, respectively, won writing awards for Blackbird and Small Engine Repair.

An award for Unique Theatrical Event has been presented to Standing on Ceremony, and among special award winners are David Wiener who has received The Ted Schmitt Award for Extraordinary Chambers, Rogue Machine which has won The Polly Warfield Award for an excellent season in a small to mid-size theater, and The Odyssey Theatre which has been presented with The Margaret Harford Award for sustained excellence in theater.

For more information and a complete list of Los Angeles Drama Critics Award winners, click here.