TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Richard Kind and William H. Macy Among Carney Award Honorees

The award is given in honor of famed character actor Art Carney. logo
Tony nominee Richard Kind is among this year's Carney Award honorees.
(© David Gordon)

The Carney Awards announced today that this year's class of honorees will include William H. Macy, Wendie Malick, William Fichtner, Richard Kind, and Xander Berkeley. ABC's Dancing With the Stars host Tom Bergeron will host the evening's program on Sunday, October 29, at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, California.

In addition to their extensive television and film credits, William H. Macy and Richard Kind are also popular stage vets. Macy has both performed in and directed various off-Broadway productions, earning a Drama Desk nomination for his direction of Boys' Life in 1988. He has also been seen on Broadway in productions of Our Town and Speed-the-Plow. Kind's Broadway credits include The Tale of the Allergist's Wife, The Producers, Sly Fox, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, and The Big Knife, which earned him a Tony nomination and a Drama Desk Award in 2013.

Now in its third year, the Carney Awards honors Hollywood's leading character actors for their outstanding achievements in character acting. Named in honor of the late Oscar- and six-time Emmy-winning actor Art Carney, the Carney Awards were created by Elvis Duran Group CEO David Katz; his brother Jim Katz, an Emmy Award-winning producer; and Brian Carney, actor and voice-over artist, and Art's son. The Carney Awards is a joint production between the Elvis Duran Group and Radcliffe Road Pictures. National radio personality Elvis Duran, the Katz brothers, and Carney are executive producers.

"Character actors are rarely singled out and given the recognition they not only deserve, but that they've earned," said Brian Carney. "It was my father's wish that this award would do just that. He wanted them to get their chance in the spotlight. And he wanted it done with integrity and class. The Carney Awards accomplishes his wishes on every level."

Past honorees include Gary Cole, Stephen Tobolowsky, Dan Hedaya, Conchata Ferrell, Steve Buscemi, Bob Balaban, Michael Ealy, Bruce McGill, David Paymer, CCH Pounder, and Jonathan Banks.