TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Obba Babatunde, Levar Burton, Nikki Crawford, et al. Win NAACP Theatre Awards logo
Obba Babatunde in Sammy
(© Craig Schwartz)
The 20th annual NAACP Theatre Awards were presented in a ceremony on Monday, August 30 at the Director's Guild of America in Hollywood.

Sammy, produced by The Old Globe Theatre, won awards for Best Production-Equity and for lead actor Obba Babatunde and music director Ian Fraser. The Old Globe's production of The First Wives Club earned awards for director Francesca Zambello and lighting designer Mark McCullough.

Danai Gurira was named Best Playwright-Equity for Eclipsed and director Robert O'Hara also took home an award.

Stormy Weather's Nikki Crawford was named Best Lead Actress-Equity. Among the other performers who won awards were Levar Burton (The Caterer), Deidrie Henry (Coming Home), Erica Ash (Baby It's You), Shomi Albritton (Jitney), Mark Ewing (The Cherry Orchard), Sammie Wayne (One Woman, Two Lives), and Aaron Braxton (Did You Do Your Homework?), as well as the ensemble casts of Crowns and Stick Fly.

Among the non-competitive award winners were Kenny Leon, who received the Trailblazer Award and Wren T. Brown, who received the Community Service Award. Ashanti was also honored at the event.

For further information, visit:

Tagged in this Story