TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Jonathan Cake, Davis Gaines, Jane Kaczmarek, Kevin Mambo, Stephen Spinella Receive Ovation Nominations logo

Jonathan Cake and Stephen Spinella in The Grönholm Method
(© Chelsea Sutton)
Nominations for the 2012 LA STAGE Alliance Ovation Awards -- honoring the best in Los Angeles-area theater -- have been announced. The awards ceremony will take place on Monday, November 12, at the historic Los Angeles Theatre, beginning at 7:30pm.

Center Theatre Group leads the field with 29 nominations for its productions, which include such shows as American Night: The Ballad of Juan Jose, The Convert, and Waiting for Godot, as well as the entire slate of nominees for Best Presented Production: Follies, Red, and War Horse.

Among the actors who have received individual nominations are Pascale Armand, Marylouise Burke, Anne Gee Byrd, Jonathan Cake, Davis Gaines, Jane Kaczmarek, Ellen Lauren, La Toya London, Bets Malone, Kevin Mambo, Alan Mandell, Leslie Margherita, Barry McGovern, Larry Raben, Stephen Spinella, and Matt Walker.

Ovation Honors, which recognize outstanding achievement in areas that are not among the standard list of nomination categories, have been awarded to Sacred Fools Theatre (Composition for a Play, Stoneface: The Fall and Rise of Buster Keaton), Theatre of Note (Fight Choreography, Hearts Like Fists), Theatre @ Boston Court (Puppet Design, The Children), and Center Theatre Group/Kirk Douglas Theatre (Video Design, American Night: The Ballad of Juan Jose).

For more information, visit


Tagged in this Story