TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Jessica Chastain, Viola Davis, Vanessa Williams, et al. Win Satellite Awards logo
Viola Davis
(© Tristan Fuge)
Theater veterans Jessica Chastain, Claire Danes, Peter Dinklage, Viola Davis, Timothy Olyphant, Martha Plimpton, and Vanessa Williams are among the winners of the International Press Academy's 16th annual Satellite Awards, which ere presented in a ceremony at the Beverly Hills Hotel on Sunday, December 18.

Davis won as Actress in a Motion Picture for her performance in The Help, while Chastain received the Actress in a Supporting Role award for her work in The Tree of Life.

Additional acting winners in movie categories included Ryan Gosling and Albert Brooks, who won as Actor in a Motion Picture and Actor in a Supporting Role, respectively, for their work in Drive, which also was named Best Motion Picture.

In television categories, Danes won for Homeland, Dinklage won for Game of Thrones, Olyphant won for Justified, Plimpton won for Raising Hope, and Williams won for Desperate Housewives.

Other television acting winners included Kate Winslet for Mildred Pierce; Jason Isaacs for Case Histories, Louis C.K. for Louie, and Ryan Hurst for Sons of Anarchy,.


Tagged in this Story