TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Hamilton Set Designer David Korins Joins 2019 Oscars Production Team

As previously announced, Glenn Close, Emma Stone, Bradley Cooper, and more are up for Academy Awards this year.

David Korins will be the set designer for the 2019 Academy Awards telecast.
(© David Gordon)

Producers Donna Gigliotti and Glenn Weiss have announced the production team for this year's Academy Awards telecast, airing live on ABC Sunday, February 24, at 8pm EST. Among the announced members is Tony-nominated set designer David Korins (Hamilton, Dear Evan Hansen, the upcoming Beetlejuice), joining the broadcast for the first time.

The rest of the team includes Rob Paine (supervising producer), Robert Dickinson (lighting designer), Jon Macks (head writer), Taryn Hurd (talent producer), Raj Kapoor (coproducer), Mitchell Marchand (writer), Rickey Minor (music director), Mike Reiss (writer), Matt Roberts (writer), and Beth Sherman (writer).

As previously announced, theater favorites Glenn Close, Emma Stone, Rachel Weisz, Willem Dafoe, Amy Adams, Sam Rockwell, Mahershala Ali, and Adam Driver are all nominated for Oscars this year, as is Hairspray composer-lyricists Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (in the Best Original Song category for "The Places Where Lost Things Go" from Mary Poppins Returns), and Avenue Q book writer Jeff Whitty (for cowriting the adapted screenplay of Can You Ever Forgive Me?).