TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Colin Firth, Woody Harrelson, Helen Mirren, Gwyneth Paltrow, Christopher Plummer, et al. Nominated for Independent Spirit Awards logo
Helen Mirren
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Stage veterans Colin Firth, Woody Harrelson, Christian McKay, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Christopher Plummer are among the actors nominated for the Independent Spirit Awards. The 25th annual ceremony will be held at LA Live on March 5 and will be broadcast live on IFC at 8pm PST/11pm EST.

Ethan Coen -- who has penned two programs of one-acts staged by the Atlantic Theater -- is nominated along with brother Joel for directing their film A Serious Man. The film also received the Robert Altman Award, given to the film's directors, casting directors (Ellen Chenoweth and Rachel Tenner), and ensemble cast (Richard Kind, Sari Lennick, Jessica McManus, Michael Stuhlbarg, and Aaron Wolff).

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story