TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Brown, Guirgis, Letscher, Metcalf, et al. Win LADCC Awards

Laurie Metcalf and Dennis Boutsikaris
in The Quality of Life
(© Michael Lamont)
The 39th annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards were presented on March 17 at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood. Jason Graae, who received the Joel Hirschorn Award for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Theater, hosted the event with critic Wenzel Jones. Awards were presented in 16 separate categories.

Jason Robert Brown's musical 13 received awards for Best Production, Best Musical Direction, Best Ensemble Performance, and Best Musical Score. Jane Anderson's play The Quality of Life received the Ted Schmitt Award for Outstanding World Premiere Play and star Laurie Metcalf was one of six acting winners for Lead Performance. In Arabia We'd All Be Kings received awards for Best Production, Best Writing for Stephen Adly Guirgis, and Best Scenic Design and Lighting Design for Joel Daavid.

Other actors who took home LADCC Awards were Danny Calvert (Zanna, Dont!), Misty Cotton (A Little Night Music), Adam Haas Hunter (dark plays or stories for boys), Shawn Lee (An Impending Rupture of the Belly), Alan Mandell (Trying), Matt Letscher (Anatol), Rebecca Marcotte (Little Women), and Gabriel Olds (Tryst).

Special awards were presented to theater companies Musical Theatre West and Theater Banshee, lighting designer Leigh Allen, and ASL interpreter Jon Maher.