TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Carole Demas, Joan Jett, Lou Reed, Eddie Money, John Tartaglia, et al. Set for Long Island Music Hall of Fame Gala

Joan Jett
(© Tristan Fuge)
An updated list of presenters and performers has been announced for the 2010 Long Island Music Hall of Fame Gala, to be held at the Oheka Castle, in Huntington, NY, on Tuesday, November 16.

As previously reported, inductees will include Carole Demas and Paula Janis, for hosting and starring in The Magic Garden; folk artist, composer and lyricist Oscar Brand, folk singer jazz vibraphonist Teddy Charles, heavy metal band Dream Theater, classical clarinetist Stanley Drucker, hip-hop performers Erik B. and Rakim, classical composer Morton Gould, music photographer Bob Gruen, jazz drummer Roy Haynes, rock keyboardist Al Kooper, promoter and music executive Steve Martin, gospel singer Donnie McClurkin, WLIR program director Denis McNamara, legendary venue My Father's Place, Latin pianist Eddie Palmieri, rock singer Lou Reed, oldies girl-group The Shangri Las and avant-garde saxophonist John Zorn. LIMHoF will also present the 2010 Music Educator of Note Award to Laurence Ballereau, and will formally present the 2009 Award to the family of Joseph Sugar, who passed away in 2009.

Confirmed presenters will include Broadway veterans Joan Jett and John Tartaglia, as well as Felix Cavaliere, Rene Lopez, Mose Allison, Lee Rocker, John Scher, Naomi and Rosanne Drucker, John Mosca, Gary Antebi with Sherlock, Lenny Kaye, Donna Donna and Fingers, Larry the Duck, actor Peter Riegert, Peppi and Mickey Marchello.

The gala will feature performances from Eddie Money, Rakim, Al Kooper, and Oscar Brand.

For more information, visit