TheaterMania Logo
Theater News Nominations Announced logo
David Tennant in Much Ado About Nothing
(© Johan Persson)
Nominations for the 12th annual Awards have been announced. The winners will be revealed at the Awards Concert on February 19, 2012 at the West End's Prince of Wales Theatre.

Among the acting nominees are Eve Best, Alfie Boe, Simon Callow, Benedict Cumberbatch, James Earl Jones, Jude Law, John Leguizamo, Kristin Scott Thomas, Vanessa Redgrave, Sheridan Smith, Kevin Spacey, Catherine Tate, David Tennant, and Hannah Waddingham.

WhatsOnStage also gave special mentions to Danny Boyle's return to the stage with Frankenstein and his alternate casting of Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller in the leads; Duckie's Lullaby, the Barbican's first-ever sleepover show; The National's opening of its Paintframe as a one-off performance space; and the benefit concert to rescue Dress Circle.

A full list of nominations in competitive categories follows.

Best Actress in a Play
Eve Best - Much Ado About Nothing
Kristin Scott Thomas - Betrayal
Ruth Wilson - Anna Christie
Samantha Spiro - Chicken Soup with Barley
Tamsin Greig - Jumpy
Vanessa Redgrave - Driving Miss Daisy

Best Actor in a Play
Benedict Cumberbatch - Frankenstein
Jude Law - Anna Christie
Kevin Spacey - Richard III
David Tennant - Much Ado About Nothing
James Earl Jones - Driving Miss Daisy
James Corden - One Man, Two Guvnors

Best Supporting Actress in a Play
Bryony Hannah - The Children's Hour
Catherine Tate - Season's Greetings
Doon Mackichan - Jumpy
Jemima Rooper - One Man, Two Guvnors
Niamh Cusack - Playboy of the Western World
Sheridan Smith - Flare Path

Best Supporting Actor in a Play
Arthur Darvill - Dr Faustus
Charles Edwards - Twelfth Night
David Hayman - Anna Christie
Harry Hadden-Paton - Flare Path
Mark Gatiss - Season's Greetings
Oliver Chris - One Man, Two Guvnors

The BABY GRAND Best Actress in a Musical
Amanda Holden - Shrek the Musical
Caissie Levy - Ghost the Musical
Clare Foster - Crazy for You
Emma Williams - Love Story
Cleo Demetriou, Kerry Ingram Eleanor Worthington Cox & Sophia Kiely - Matilda the Musical
Sarah Lancashire - Betty Blue Eyes

The THEATRE TOKENS Best Actor in a Musical
Bertie Carvel - vMatilda the Musical
Nigel Lindsay - Shrek the Musical
Oliver Tompsett - Rock of Ages
Reece Shearsmith - Betty Blue Eyes
Richard Fleeshman - Ghost the Musical
Sean Palmer - Crazy for You

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical
Ann Emery - Betty Blue Eyes
Hannah Waddingham - The Wizard of Oz
Harriet Thorpe - Crazy for You
Lauren Ward - Matilda the Musical
Meow Meow - The Umbrellas of Cherbourg
Sharon D Clarke - Ghost the Musical

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical
Andrew Langtree - Ghost the Musical
Ben Goddard - Million Dollar Quartet
David Burt - Crazy for You
Nigel Harman - Shrek the Musical
Paul Kaye - Matilda the Musical
Simon Lipkin - Rock of Ages

The LES MISÈRABLES Best Ensemble Performance
London Road
Richard III & The Comedy of Errors
Some Like It Hip Hop
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Top Girls

Daniel Kitson - It's Always Right Now Until It's Later
John Leguziamo - Ghetto Klown
Kerry Ellis - Anthems
Ruby Wax - Losing It
Simon Callow - Being Shakespeare
Stephanie Street - The Nightwatchman

The SEATLIVE Best Takeover in a Role
Alex Gaumond - We Will Rock You
Alfie Boe - Les Misèrables
Kimberley Walsh - Shrek the Musical
Matt Lucas - Les Misèrables
Susan McFadden - Legally Blonde
Tara Fitzgerald - Broken Glass

Belongings by Morgan Lloyd Malcolm
Collaborators by John Hodge
Grief by Mike Leigh
Mogadishu by Vivienne Franzmann
The Heretic by Richard Bean
Three Days in May by Ben Brown

The EMG Best New Comedy
Get Santa! by Anthony Neilson
Jumpy by April de Angelis
No Naughty Bits by Steve Thompson
One Man, Two Guvnors by Richard Bean
Potted Panto by Daniel Clarkson, Jefferson Turner & Richard Hurst
The Village Bike by Penelope Skinner

The SEE TICKETS Best New Musical
Betty Blue Eyes by George Stiles, Antony Drewe, Ron Cowen & Daniel Lipman
Ghost the Musical by Dave Stewart, Glen Ballard & Bruce Joel Rubin
London Road by Adam Cork & Alecky Blythe
Matilda the Musical by Tim Minchin & Dennis Kelly
Rock of Ages by Chris D'Arienzo
Shrek the Musical by Jeanine Tesori & David Lindsay-Abaire

The SAMUEL FRENCH Best Play Revival
Anna Christie
Chicken Soup with Barley
Driving Miss Daisy
Flare Path

The RADISSON EDWARDIAN Best Musical Revival
Crazy for You
Fings Ain't Wot They Used T'Be
South Pacific
The Wizard of Oz

Best Shakespearean Production
Hamlet - at the Young Vic
King Lear - at the Donmar Warehouse
Much Ado About Nothing - at Shakespeare's Globe
Much Ado About Nothing - at Wyndham's
Richard III - at the Old Vic
The Tempest - at the Theatre Royal Haymarket

The OAKLEY CAPITAL Best Director
Danny Boyle - Frankenstein
Josie Rourke - Much Ado About Nothing
Matthew Warchus - Ghost the Musical& Matilda the Musical
Michael Grandage - King Lear & Luise Miller
Nicholas Hytner - One Man, Two Guvnors
Trevor Nunn - Flare Path & Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead

Best Set Designer
Mark Tildesley - Frankenstein
Jon Bausor - Lord of the Flies
Miriam Buether - Decade
Paul Wills - Anna Christie
Rob Howell - Ghost the Musical & Matilda the Musical
Robert Jones - The Wizard of Oz

The WHITE LIGHT Best Lighting Designer
Bruno Poet - Frankenstein
Hugh Vanstone - Ghost the Musical
Mark Henderson - The Kitchen, 13, The Emperor & Galilean
Neil Austin - Betty Blue Eyes
Oliver Fenwick - My City
Paule Constable - Luise Miller

Best Choreographer
Aline David - The Kitchen
Ashley Wallen - Ghost the Musical
Kate Prince - Some Like It Hip Hop
Kelly Devine - Rock of Ages
Peter Darling - Matilda the Musical
Stephen Mear - Crazy for You Betty Blue Eyes

The DEWYNTERS London Newcomer of the Year
Danielle Hope - The Wizard of Oz
Johnny Flynn - The Heretic
Kara Tointon - Pygmalion
Kyle Soller - The Glass Menagerie & Government Inspector & The Faith Machine
Shayne Ward - Rock of Ages
Tim Minchin - Matilda

The TIME OUT Best Off-West End Production
The Animals & Children Took to the Streets
The Belle's Stratagem
The Riots
Thrill Me: The Leopold & Loeb Story

The LUCKINGS Best Regional Production
20th Century Boy
Love Love Love
Sweeney Todd
The Go Between

The EQUITY Best West End Show
Jersey Boys
Les Misérables
The Phantom of the Opera
War Horse
We Will Rock You

The AKA Theatre Event of the Year
David Tennant & Catherine Tate reuniting on stage in Much Ado About Nothing
Headlong's commemoration of 9/11 with Decade, written by 18 authors & staged in a disused office block at St Katharine's Dock
Michael Sheen & Bill Mitchell's staging of The Passion on the streets of Port Talbot
The Bush Theatre's 24-hour cycle of 66 Books, in response to the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible, to open its new Shepherd's Bush Library home
The Phantom of the Opera's 25th anniversary concert at the Royal Albert Hall & screened to cinemas worldwide
The Royal Shakespeare Company's 50th anniversary season & reopening of the Royal Shakespeare & Swan Theatre in Stratford-upon-Avon

For more information, and to vote on the awards, click here.

Tagged in this Story