TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

First UK Stage 100 Awards Winners Are Announced logo
The U.K. magazine The Stage has announced the winners of the inaugural The Stage 100 Awards, which recognize outstanding theater organizations in five categories.

The Royal Court Theatre has earned the honor of London Theatre of the Year and The Finborough Theatre has been named the Fringe Theatre of the Year. In addition, the Regional Theatre of the Year prize has gone to Northampton Royal and Derngate. Also recognized have been English Touring Theatre, which has won as Producer of the Year; and the Sylvia Young Theatre School, which has received the Performing Arts School of the Year award.

The prizes have been announced in conjunction with The Stage 100, the paper's yearly analysis of the most influential movers and shakers in the industry. Among the names on this year's list are Ambassador Theatre Group executives Howard Panter and Rosemary Squire; actors Kevin Spacey, Mark Rylance, Simon Russell Beale, Judi Dench, Kim Cattrall, Michael Gambon, Derek Jacobi, Keira Knightley, and Sheridan Smith; composer Andrew Lloyd Webber; playwrights Alan Ayckbourn and Lee Hall; choreographer Matthew Bourne; directors Dominic Cooke, Nicholas Hytner, Michael Grandage, Michael Boyd, Matthew Warchus and Rupert Goold; and producers Cameron Mackintosh, Bill Kenwright, Sonia Friedman, and David Babani.

Tagged in this Story