TheaterMania Logo
Home link

PHOTO FLASH: Laura Linney, Annie Leibovitz, Greg Mortenson, Salman Rushdie Receive Common Wealth Awards

Annie Leibovitz, Salman Rushdie, Laura Linney
and Greg Mortenson
(Photo courtesy Common Wealth Awards)
Broadway veteran Laura Linney was among the recipients of a Common Wealth Award of Distinguished Service, which was presented on Saturday, April 24 at a ceremony hosted by The PNC Financial Services Group in Wilmington, Delaware.

Additional award recipients also included photographer Annie Leibovitz, humanitarian Greg Mortrenson, and author Salman Rushdie. The honorees will receive a shared prize of $200,000.

Linney starred earlier this season in the Broadway production of Time Stands Still. She received Tony nominations for The Crucible and Sight Unseen, with additional Broadway credits including Les Liaisons Dangereuses, Uncle Vanya, and Holiday. She won the 2008 Emmy Award for HBO's John Adams and is a three-time Oscar nominee for The Savages, Kinsey, and You Can Count on Me. She will star in the upcoming Showtime series The Big C, which will premiere on August 16.

The Common Wealth Awards of Distinguished Service were first presented in 1979 and are funded by The Ralph Hayes Common Wealth Foundation. PNC is trustee and administrator of the foundation, which was created under the will of the late Ralph Hayes, an influential business executive and philanthropist.