TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Jeff Equity Award Nominations Are Announced logo
David Henry Hwang
The nominations for the 43rd annual Jeff Equity Awards have been announced. The prizes will be presented in a ceremony to be held on Monday, November 7, at Drury Lane Oakbrook.

The Goodman Theatre's production of David Henry Hwang's Chinglish has received five nominations, including ones for the production and the author. In addition, director Leigh Silverman, actress Jennifer Lim, and scenic designer David Korins have been nominated for their work on the show, which will begin a Broadway run at the Longacre Theatre on October 11.

In the "Production - Musical - Large" category, the Marriott Theatre's productions of 42nd Street and A Chorus Line have been nominated, along with the Goodman's Candide, Court Theatre's The Gershwin's Porgy and Bess, and Drury Lane Productions' Monty Python's Spamalot.

Performers nominated for their work this year include John Mahoney and Rondi Reed for The Outgoing Tide, Harry Groener for The Madness of George III, Francis Guinan for Rantoul and Die, Tracy Letts for Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Lois Markle for Edward Albee's Three Tall Women, Mike Nussbaum for Broadway Bound, Geoff Packard and Hollis Resnik for Candide, Joe Kinosian and Alan Schmuckler for Murder for Two - A Killer Musical, Jessie Mueller for both Guys and Dolls and She Loves Me, and James Earl Jones II for The Wiz.

Among the many directors nominated for their work this year are Robert Falls, Rachel Rockwell, Mark Lococo, Mary Zimmerman, Charles Newell, William Osetek, David H. Bell, Gary Griffin, and Michael Halberstam.

For more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story