TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Diana Rigg, Chita Rivera, Ruth Wilson, Robert Fairchild, and More at Theatre World Awards

The annual honors were presented on June 1 at the Lyric Theatre.

This year's Theatre World Award winners Robert Fairchild and Leanne Cope share a photo with fellow American in Paris cast member Brandon Uranowitz and Fairchild's wife, Little Dancer star Tiler Peck.
(© David Gordon)

The 71st Annual Theatre World Awards, the oldest award given for a debut performance on or off-Broadway, were presented during a ceremony held Monday, June 1, at Broadway's Lyric Theatre. Journalist Peter Filichia hosted the event.

In alphabetical order, this year's winners were Geneva Carr (Hand to God), Daveed Diggs (Hamilton), Megan Fairchild (On the Town), Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris), Sydney Lucas (Fun Home), Karen Pittman (Disgraced), Emily Skeggs (Fun Home), Collin Kelly-Sordelet (The Last Ship), Benjamin Scheuer (The Lion), Alex Sharp (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time), Micah Stock (It's Only a Play), and Ruth Wilson (Constellations).

Leanne Cope of An American in Paris was presented with the Seventh Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence, with Chita Rivera (The Visit) receiving the 2015 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre. Presenters included Dame Diana Rigg (Game of Thrones), and past winners Gretchen Mol and Ruthie Ann Miles.

Check out TheaterMania's photos in the gallery below.