TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Color Purple Changes Broadway Cast Recording Release Date

The album is now available for pre-order.

Cynthia Erivo and Joaquina Kalukango in The Color Purple, directed by John Doyle, at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre.
(© Matthew Murphy)

The new Broadway cast recording of The Color Purple will now be released February 12, altered from the previously announced drop date of January 29. According to press materials, the delay is due to changes in the recording and production schedule.

John Doyle's new production, which opened at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre on December 10, stars Cynthia Erivo, Oscar and Grammy winner Jennifer Hudson, and Danielle Brooks as Celie, Shug Avery, and Sofia, respectively. Adapted from the novel of the same name by Alice Walker, The Color Purple features a book by Marsha Norman with music and lyrics by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis, and Stephen Bray.

The company also includes Isaiah Johnson as Mister, Joaquina Kalukango as Nettie, and Kyle Scatliffe as Harpo. The production's ensemble is made up of Phoenix Best, Dwayne Clark, Lawrence Clayton, Carrie Compere, Patrice Covington, Adrianna Hicks, Bre Jackson, Grasan Kingsberry, Kevyn Morrow, Ken Robinson, Antoine L. Smith, Carla R. Stewart, Akron Watson, and Rema Webb.

The new Broadway cast recording will be released by Broadway Records and can pre-ordered at and at The album is being produced by six-time Grammy Award winner Frank Filipetti.

For tickets and more information, click here.