TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

School of Rock to Welcome a New Class of Actors to the Winter Garden Theatre

Andrew Lloyd Webber's musical announces its latest stars.

A scene from School of Rock at the Winter Garden Theatre.
(© Matthew Murphy)

Broadway's School of Rock will welcome a slew of new cast members to the Winter Garden Theatre beginning on July 30.

The 2018-19 class is set to include Katherine McLaughlin as Principal Rosalie Mullins, Layla Capers as Tomika, Duke Cutler as a swing, Darrow Golub as James, Matthew Jost as Zack the guitarist, Jordan Cole as Lawrence the keyboardist, Hudson Loverro as Billy, Nirvaan Pal as Mason, and Theodora Silverman as a swing.

They replace Analisa Leaming, John Allyn, Gabrielle Greene, Jim Kaplan, Ellie Kim, Colin Lauri, Cory Logan, Iggy Rosado, and Zachary Zwelling, all of whom depart on July 29.

Based on the hit 2003 film of the same, School of Rock features music from the movie, as well as original music by Andrew Lloyd Webber, lyrics by Glenn Slater, a book by Julian Fellowes, and direction by Laurence Connor.

The story follows Dewey Finn, a failed, wannabe rock star who decides to earn a few extra bucks by posing as a substitute teacher at a prestigious prep school. There he turns a class of straight-A students into a guitar-shredding, bass-slapping, mind-blowing rock band. While teaching these pint-size prodigies what it means to truly rock, Dewey falls for the school's beautiful but uptight headmistress, helping her rediscover the wild child within.


Tagged in this Story