TheaterMania Logo
Home link

School of Rock to Release Cast Recording Before Its Broadway Opening

Twelve original Andrew Lloyd Webber tunes will be featured on the album.

Alex Brightman (center) and the Broadway cast of School of Rock, opening December 6 at the Winter Garden Theatre.
(© David Gordon)

Warner Bros. Records will release the original Broadway cast recording for School of Rock on December 4. The new musical's opening night will take place on December 6 at the Winter Garden Theatre. Preview performances will begin November 9.

The album will feature 12 original songs by Tony Award winner Andrew Lloyd Webber (The Phantom of the Opera) and Tony-nominated lyricist Glenn Slater (The Little Mermaid). Three songs from the original 2003 film will also be included.

Based on the film, written by Mike White, directed by Richard Linklater, and starring Jack Black, School of Rock tells the story of a down-on-his-luck wannabe rock star named Dewey Finn, who poses as a substitute teacher at a prep school and enlists his fifth-graders to form a rock group and conquer Battle of the Bands. The show features a book by Julian Fellowes (Downton Abbey, Mary Poppins) and direction by Laurence Connor (Les Misérables).

Alex Brightman will star in the lead role of Dewey Finn, with Sierra Boggess (It Shoulda Been You) as the stern school principal Rosalie Mullins.

The creative team will feature choreography by JoAnn M. Hunter, scenic and costume design by Anna Louizos, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Mick Potter, and music supervision by Ethan Popp.

For tickets and more information, click here.