TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Leslie Odom Jr., and Phillipa Soo Play Final Performance in Hamilton

The trio have starred in the production since its off-Broadway premiere at the Public Theater. logo
Hamilton stars Phillipa Soo, Leslie Odom Jr., and Lin-Manuel Miranda will exit the production.
(© David Gordon)

Hamilton stars Lin-Manuel Miranda, Leslie Odom Jr., and Phillipa Soo play their final performances in the Broadway production of Miranda's Tony-winning musical today, July 9, stepping onto the Richard Rodgers Theatre stage for the last time for the evening performance.

Javier Muñoz, who has served as the standby for Alexander Hamilton since the earliest days of the production, will take over for Miranda full-time beginning July 11. In addition, as was recently announced, Lexi Lawson (In the Heights national tour) will replace Soo as Eliza Hamilton, Michael Luwoye (Invisible Thread) will step into Muñoz's role as Hamilton alternate, and, beginning mid-August, two-time Tony Award nominee Brandon Victor Dixon (Shuffle Along) will replace Odom.

Miranda received 2016 Tony Awards for Best Book and Best Score for his work on Hamilton, which had its world premiere in 2015 at the Public Theater. Odom, meanwhile, took home the award for Best Actor in a Musical for playing the role of Aaron Burr. The show was nominated for a record 16 Tony Awards and won 11, including the top honor, Best Musical.

Directed by Tony winner Thomas Kail and inspired by Ron Chernow's biography Alexander Hamilton, Hamilton explores the life of the American founding father and first Secretary of the Treasury, as well as his experiences as an orphan of the British West Indies who immigrated to the 13 Colonies and helped shape the United States of America. The show opened August 6, 2015, at the Richard Rodgers Theatre.

Hamilton features Tony-winning choreography by Andy Blankenbuehler, as well as Tony-winning orchestrations, costumes, and lighting design by Alex Lacamoire, Paul Tazewell, and Howell Binkley. The set is designed by Tony nominee David Korins.

For tickets and more information, click here.