Theater News

Laura Benanti, Lesli Margherita, and More to Appear at 2017 Gypsy of the Year

Seth Rudetsky will once again host Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS’s annual fundraiser.

Laura Benanti will be among many special guests appearing at the 29th annual Gypsy of the Year competition.
Laura Benanti will be among many special guests appearing at the 29th annual Gypsy of the Year competition.
(© David Gordon)

Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS announced the slate of special guests who will appear at this year's 29th annual Gypsy of the Year competition December 4 and 5 at the New Amsterdam Theatre.

Major Attaway (Aladdin); Laura Benanti, Keegan-Michael Key, Amy Schumer, and Jeremy Shamos (Meteor Shower); Richard H. Blake, Will Coombs, Bradley Gibson, Adam Kaplan, Jonah Mussolino, and Chazz Palminteri (A Bronx Tale — The Musical); Chad Kimball, Caesar Samayoa, and Sharon Wheatley (Come From Away); Lesli Margherita (Who's Holiday!); and more will make guest appearances, while Javier Muñoz (Hamilton) will lead a moment of silence for those we have lost.

Gypsy of the Year celebrates the talented singers and dancers in the ensembles of shows, historically and affectionately known as "gypsies." More than 150 Broadway and off-Broadway singers and dancers will perform original skits, songs, and dances, with awards presented to the best presentation and for the top fundraisers from the preceding six weeks.

Among the shows scheduled to make presentations are Afterglow, Aladdin, Avenue Q, Cats, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Chicago, Come From Away, Hamilton, Jersey Boys, The Lion King, The Phantom of the Opera and School of Rock. The Chase Brock Experience also is set to perform, representing Dancers Responding to AIDS, a program of Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

Two-time Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise will share a special performance, and Kristine Bendul will choreograph a piece honoring those who have paved the way for today's Broadway gypsies.

At the December 5 performance, the panel of judges awarding best presentation honors will include John Bolton and Caroline O'Connor from Anastasia, Harvey Evans, Pamela Myers, Noah Galvin, and Will Roland from Dear Evan Hansen, Chilina Kennedy and Evan Todd from Beautiful: The Carole King Musical, Don Darryl Rivera from Aladdin, Lea Salonga from Once on This Island, and Nicole LaFountaine and Cheryl Miller, winners of exclusive VIP packages at the 31st annual Broadway Flea Market & Grand Auction in September.

Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS is one of the nation's leading industry-based, nonprofit AIDS fundraising and grant-making organizations and is the major supporter of the social service programs at The Actors Fund, including the HIV/AIDS Initiative, the Phyllis Newman Women's Health Initiative and the Samuel J. Friedman Health Center for the Performing Arts. Recently, Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS donated over half a million dollars for recovery efforts in areas hit by Hurricanes Harvey, Irma, and Maria.

For tickets and more information, click here.