TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Glee Creator Ryan Murphy to Host Special Benefit Performance of The Prom

The performance will benefit the Hetrick-Martin Institute, GLAAD, and the Trevor Project.

The Prom will give a special benefit performance at the Longacre Theatre on April 9 hosted by Ryan Murphy.
(© Deen van Meer)

Six-time Emmy Award winner Ryan Murphy (The Boys in the Band, Glee, American Horror Story) has announced that he will host a special performance of The Prom to benefit the Hetrick-Martin Institute (HMI), the Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD), and the Trevor Project on Tuesday, April 9, at the Longacre Theatre.

HMI is an organization dedicated to helping LGBTQ youth reach their full potential in life. GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.

The Prom features music by Matthew Sklar, a book by Chad Beguelin and Bob Martin, and lyrics by Beguelin. Leading the cast are Tony Award nominee Brooks Ashmanskas, Tony winner Beth Leavel, Tony nominee Christopher Sieber, Caitlin Kinnunen, Isabelle McCalla, Michael Potts, Angie Schworer, Courtenay Collins, and Josh Lamon.

Directed by Casey Nicholaw, The Prom is described as follows: "Emma becomes an instant outcast, and a national headline, when her high school cancels the prom rather than let her attend with her girlfriend. Sensing a chance to correct an injustice, and maybe get some good publicity along the way, a group of fading celebrities takes up the cause, and invades Emma's small Indiana town. But their bumbling attempts at social activism make the situation far worse than they, or Emma, could have ever imagined."

Rounding out the ensemble are Mary Antonini, Gabi Campo, Jerusha Cavazos, Shelby Finnie, Josh Franklin, Fernell Hogan, Joomin Hwang, Sheldon Henry, David Josefsberg, Becca Lee, Wayne Mackins, Kate Marilley, Anthony Norman, Drew Redington, Jack Sippel, Teddy Toye, Kalyn West, and Brittany Zeinstra.

The production has scenic design by Scott Pask, costume design by Ann Roth and Matthew Pachtman, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Brian Ronan, hair design by Josh Marquette, and make-up design by Milagros Medina-Cerdeira.