TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Gettin' the Band Back Together to Record Broadway Cast Album

Mitchell Jarvis, Kelli Barrett, and Marilu Henner lead the cast at the Belasco Theatre.

Mitchell Jarvis leads the cast of Gettin' the Band Back Together at Broadway's Belasco Theatre.
(© Joan Marcus)

Sh-K-Boom Records has announced it will record an original Broadway cast album of the new musical comedy Gettin' the Band Back Together, to be released later this year. The production is currently running at the Belasco Theatre where it opened on August 13.

Gettin' the Band Back Together is described as follows: "Mitch Papadopoulos always wanted to be the next Bruce Springsteen, but he left those daydreams behind for a day job. When this big-shot banker is handed a pink slip on his 40th birthday, he's forced to move back in with his mom in New Jersey. A run-in with his former music rival leads to a threat of foreclosure on Mitch's family home, unless he can win the Battle of the Bands — a rematch over 25 years in the making. So he dusts off his guitar, gathers his old gang, and sets out to win back his house, his pride — and maybe even the high school sweetheart he left behind — proving it's never too late to give your dreams one last shot."

Directed by Tony Award winner John Rando and choreographed by Chris Bailey, Gettin' the Band Back Together has original music and lyrics by Mark Allen and a book by Ken Davenport and the Grundleshotz with additional material by Sarah Saltzberg.

The cast features Mitchell Jarvis (Mitch Papadopoulos), Jay Klaitz (Bart Vickers), Manu Narayan (Dr. Rummesh "Robbie" Patel), Paul Whitty (Michael "Sully" Sullivan), Sawyer Nunes (Ricky "Bling" Goldstein), Marilu Henner ("Mitch's Mom," a.k.a. Sharon Papadopoulos), Kelli Barrett (Dani), Becca Kötte (Tawney), Garth Kravits (Ritchie), Tamika Lawrence (Roxanne Velasco), Noa Solorio (Billie), and Brandon Williams (Tygen Billows). Rounding out the ensemble are Lindsey Brett Carothers, Ryan Duncan, Scott Richard Foster, Jenny Hill, Nehal Joshi, J. Elaine Marcos, Rob Marnell, Jasmin Richardson, Ian Ward, and Tad Wilson.