TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Beth Leavel, Christopher Sieber, and More Set for The Prom on Broadway

The new musical is created by Bob Martin, Chad Beguelin, and Matthew Sklar.

Christopher Sieber (front left), Beth Leavel, Brooks Ashmanskas, and other cast members of The Prom at the Alliance Theatre.
(© Dori Berinstein)

Casting has been announced for the new musical comedy The Prom, which will officially open on Broadway on November 15, 2018, at a Shubert theater. Directed and choreographed by Tony Award winner Casey Nicholaw (The Book of Mormon), The Prom features a book by Tony Award winner Bob Martin (The Drowsy Chaperone) and Tony Award nominee Chad Beguelin (Aladdin), music by Tony Award nominee Matthew Sklar (The Wedding Singer) and lyrics by Beguelin. The Prom made its world premiere at the Alliance Theatre in Atlanta.

The Prom will star Tony Award nominee Brooks Ashmanskas (Something Rotten!), Tony Award winner Beth Leavel (The Drowsy Chaperone), two-time Tony Award nominee Christopher Sieber (Shrek the Musical), Caitlin Kinnunen (The Bridges of Madison County), Isabelle McCalla (Aladdin), Michael Potts (Jitney), Angie Schworer (The Producers), Courtenay Collins, and Josh Lamon (Groundhog Day).

Based on an original concept by Jack Viertel, The Prom is described in press materials as follows: "We've got trouble, folks, right here in Indiana, and when Broadway's brassiest hear a student is unceremoniously sidelined from a small-town Indiana prom — and the press is involved — they are ready to kick-ball-change the world. A new musical comedy about the power of love (and a good 11 o'clock number), The Prom is about so much more than just a dance."

The Prom features scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award winner Ann Roth and Matthew Pachtman, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, sound design by Tony Award nominee Peter Hylenski, wig and hair design by Josh Marquette, makeup design by Milagros Medina-Cerdeira, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, and music direction by Mary-Mitchell Campbell.