TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Reeve Carney, Eva Noblezada, and More Will Return to Anaïs Mitchell's Hadestown

The stars of the musical's London production will reprise their performances on Broadway at the Walter Kerr Theatre.

Patrick Page, Amber Gray, André De Shields, Eva Noblezada, and Reeve Carney will reprise their London performances for the Broadway production of Hadestown.
(© Bronwen Sharp for Hadestown)

Producers Mara Isaacs, Dale Franzen, Hunter Arnold, and Tom Kirdahy announced today that the Broadway production of Hadestown, set to open this spring at the Walter Kerr Theatre, will feature the principal cast from the show's sold-out run at London's National Theatre. Reeve Carney (Orpheus), André De Shields (Hermes), Amber Gray (Persephone), Eva Noblezada (Eurydice), and Patrick Page (Hades) will all reprise their performances. Previews will begin March 22 ahead of an official April 17 opening.

Directed by Tony nominee Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown features a book, music, and lyrics by singer-songwriter Anaïs Mitchell. The musical is described as follows: "Following two intertwining love stories — that of young dreamers Orpheus and Eurydice, and that of King Hades and his wife Persephone — Hadestown invites audiences on a hell-raising journey to the underworld and back. Mitchell's beguiling melodies and Chavkin's poetic imagination pit nature against industry, faith against doubt, and love against fear. Performed by a vibrant ensemble of actors, dancers, and singers, Hadestown delivers a deeply resonant and defiantly hopeful theatrical experience."

Hadestown originated as Mitchell's indie theater project that toured Vermont, which she then turned into an acclaimed album. With Chavkin, her artistic collaborator, Hadestown has been transformed into a genre-defying new musical that blends modern American folk music with New Orleans-inspired jazz to reimagine a sweeping ancient tale. The show had its world premiere in 2016 at New York Theatre Workshop.

The Broadway creative team includes Rachel Hauck (set design), Michael Krass (costume design), Bradley King (lighting design), Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz (sound design), David Neumann (choreography), Liam Robinson (music direction and vocal arrangements), Michael Chorney, Todd Sickafoose (arrangements and orchestrations), Ken Cerniglia (dramaturgy), and Stewart/Whitley (casting).