TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Ali Stroker and More to Be Excellence in Theatre Education Award Ambassadors

The Tony Awards, in association with Carnegie Mellon University, will once again honor an inspiring theater educator.

Ali Stroker will be an ambassador for the 2019 Excellence in Theatre Education Award.
(© Janie Willison)

The Tony Awards and Carnegie Mellon University have announced the actors serving as ambassadors for the 2019 Excellence in Theatre Education Award.

Ali Stroker (Oklahoma!), Santino Fontana (Tootsie), Casey Cott (Riverdale), and Rory O'Malley (The Book of Mormon) will be ambassadors, as will Carnegie Mellon alumna Chanté Adams, a high-school drama student of 2016 Excellence in Theatre Education Award winner Marilyn "MC" McCormick of Detroit.

Now through February 15, 2019, submissions will be accepted online for K-12 theater educators at an accredited institution or recognized community theater organization. Anyone — from students and school administrators, to friends, neighbors, and family — can submit a worthy teacher for consideration. He or she must be a teacher whose position includes aspects of theater education.

A panel of judges comprising the American Theatre Wing, the Broadway League, Carnegie Mellon University, and other leaders from the theater industry will select the winner. The winner will receive a cash grant for his or her school, flights to New York City, hotel accommodations, and a pair of tickets to the 2019 Tony Awards ceremony and gala.

The 2019 Tony Awards, presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, will air live on CBS on Sunday, June 9.

Click here to enter a submission.