TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Works by Robert Brustein, Israel Horovitz, Melinda Lopez, Ronan Noone Set for Boston Theater Marathon logo
Israel Horovitz
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Boston Playwrights' Theatre has announced the lineup for the 14th annual Boston Theater Marathon featuring 53 ten-minute plays, by 53 New England playwrights, produced by 54 New England theatres in 10 hours. It will be held at Stanford Calderwood Pavilion at the Boston Center for the Arts on May 20 from Noon to 10pm.

Plays will include Shrapnel by Yavni Bar-Yam; Saving Walter Chronkite by Cliff Blake; 3 AM by Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich; The Comfort Station by Robert Brustein; The Writer and the Talker by Con Chapman; Gay Paree by Andrea Fleck Clardy; The Flying Winter Princess by Mary Conroy; Sarcasms Anonymous by Robbi D'Allessandro; Wishful Thinking by Beth Derochea; Preview of Coming Attractions by Andy Dolan; Animal Boat by William Donnelly; Calling Cues by Fontaine Dubus; Reproduction by Elizabeth DuPre; The Lilac Ticket by C.J. Ehrlich; Love, Billy Bunny by Peter M. Floyd; and Second Look by Patrick Gabridge.

Also featured will be Caught, Without Candy by Gary Garrison; Frickin' Woodpecker by Deirdre Girard; Hand Down the Chesterfield by Tom Grady; Reality Book Group by Richard Grossman; The Cattle by Michael Hammond; A Kind of Love Story by Kevin Hong; Substitute Corpses by Israel Horovitz; Dream Kitchen by Heather Houston; Nothing Personal by Tom Kee; The Girls by Lisa Kenner; Marry-Go-Round by Susan Kosoff; The Reluctant Testicle by Paul J. Lawrence; and Amber Readsby Melinda Lopez.

The line-up will also include King Richards by Grant MacDermott; The Experiment by George Matry Masselam; Erosion by Scott McCrea; The Dinosaurs Have a Request by Walt McGough; Pantomimes by Tyler J. Monroe; Storrow Drive by Jefferson Navicky; The Dramaturg by Jack Neary; I Glue You by Ronan Noone; Fragment by Angel Nunez; The Accidents of Bread by William Orem; Stolen Breath by Rick Park; Deja Nous by Michael S. Parsons; Natural Consequences by Mary Sue Price; Designated Sitter by George Sauer; The Co-Hoardinator by Barbara Schweitzer; Hot Water by John Shanahan; Lycanthropy by Danny Sklar; Polar Bear Swim by Marisa Smith; Sad Times On Pine Island by Donna Sorbello; The As-If Sisters by Erin Striff; Frosty by Ellen Davis Sullivan; Edgar and Patrick by Ken Urban; A Game of Chicken by Sean Walsh; and Arts and Sciences by Sheri Wilner.

The day before the festival, there will also be free-of-charge "Warm-Up Laps" presented in collaboration with The Boston Center for the Arts and their resident theatres: A Book of Snow by Joshua Faigen at 12pm, The Last Skywriter in the Universe by Steven Bogart at 2pm, and Comes a Faery by James McLindon at 4pm.

All net proceeds from ticket sales will benefit the Theatre Community Benevolent Fund which provides financial support to theatres and theatre artists in times of need.


Tagged in this Story