TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Elliot Norton Award Winners Are Announced

Diane Paulus
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The 29th Annual Elliot Norton Awards, recognizing excellence in greater Boston theater, were presented in a ceremony held at the Paramount Mainstage on Monday, May 23.

The Huntington Theatre Company's production of Ruined won for Outstanding Production (Large Theater), while American Repertory Theatre's staging of The Blue Flower won for Outstanding Local Musical Production.

Acting winners included Uzo Aduba, Prometheus Bound; Stacy Fischer, Hysteria, or Fragments of an Analysis of an Obsessional Neurosis; Johnny Lee Davenport, Broke-ology; Thomas Derrah, R. Buckminster Fuller: The History (and Mystery) of the Universe; Anne Gottlieb, Frankie and Johnny in the Claire de Lune and In the Next Room" (or The Vibrator Play); Kate MacCluggage, The Merchant of Venice; and Alex Pollack, The Aliens.

Diane Paulus won the award for Outstanding Director (Large Theater), which recognized her for her work on Hair, Johnny Baseball, and Prometheus Bound.

The national tour of August: Osage County won for Outstanding Visiting Production, while the tour of Hair won for Outstanding Visiting Musical Production.

In addition, director Scott Edmiston recieved the Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence, and a special citation was presented to Wheelock Family Theatre, which celebrates its 30th anniversary this season.

For more information, including a full list of winners, click here.


Tagged in this Story