TheaterMania Logo
Home link

David Lindsay-Abaire, David Henry Hwang, Sarah Ruhl, et al. Recognized with Edgerton Foundation New American Play Awards

Sarah Ruhl
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Theatre Communications Group has announced the 38 Edgerton Foundation New American Play Awards, which have been granted to theaters across the U.S. in 2010. The awards provide additional rehearsal and development time for the entire creative team, including the playwright, on a new play. The goal of the awards is to utilize up-front development time to help extend the future life of the plays.

Five companies received multiple awards: Arden Theatre for Michael Holinger's Ghost Writer and Rogelio Martinez's Wanamaker's Pursuit; Denver Center Theatre Company for Michelle Lowe's Map of Heaven and Ken Weitzman's The Catch; Goodman Theatre for David Henry Hwang's Chinglish and Sarah Ruhl's Stage Kiss; and Theatreworks in Palo Alto for Rajiv Joseph's The North Pool and Laura Schellhardt's Auctioning the Ainsleys.

The New York organizations that received grants are Lincoln Center Theater for John Guare's A Free Man of Color; Manhattan Theatre Club for David Lindsay-Abaire's Good People; MCC Theater for Neil LaBute's Break of Noon; Playwrights Horizons for Bathsheba Doran's Kin; Primary Stages for Kristen Anderson-Lopez, James-Allen Ford, Russ Kaplan and Sara Wordsworth's In Transit; and Second Stage Theatre for Lynn Nottage's By the Way, Meet Vera Stark.

Among the other theaters, plays and playwrights that have received awards are: Arena Stage for Marcus Gardley's Every Tongue Confess; Arizona Theater Company for Jeffrey Hatcher's Ten Chimneys; City Theatre in Pittsburgh for Hatcher and Eric Simonson's Louder Faster; Dallas Theater Center for Regina Taylor's The Trinity River Plays; Guthrie Theater for Marsha Norman's The Master Butchers' Singing Club; Marin Theatre Company for Bill Cain's Nine Circles; Oregon Shakespeare Festival for Jonathan Moscone and Tony Taccone's Ghost Light; San Jose Rep for Philip Kan Gotanda's Love in American Times; Signature Theatre for Michael Slade, Joseph Thalken and Mark Campbell's Wheatley's Folly; South Coast Rep for Itamar Moses' Completeness; and Yale Repertory Theatre for Kirsten Greeidge's Bossa Nova.