The Pursuit of Persephone (Prospect Theater Company)

Connelly Theater
220 E 4th St, New York, NY 10009
Click for map and directions
No reviews yet. Be the first to write one!WRITE A REVIEW

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

Prospect Theater Company presents The Pursuit of Persephone A New Musical based on F. Scott Fitzgerald's THIS SIDE OF PARADISE book by Peter Mills and Cara Reichel music and lyrics by Peter Mills directed by Cara Reichel ***World Premiere**** The world on the cusp of chaos in the First World War. A brilliant and talented young man on the cusp of adulthood swept into the hierarchy of Ivy League society. A beautiful and elusive debutante, forever out of reach. Inspired by the true story of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Fitzgerald's novel This Side of Paradise, The Pursuit of Persephone is a new musical by Prospect's resident composer Pete Mills and Artistic Director Cara Reichel, whose former collaborations include The Alchemists, Dido & Aeneas, The Flood, Taxi Cabaret (presented this year at the New York Musical Festival) and Illyria (presented this year by the New Jersey Shakespeare Company.) Talk Back Performance: Buy tickets for the performance on May 15 and join us for a post show discussion with James L.W West III, author of The Perfect Hour: The Romance of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ginevra King, His First Love. Take advantage of Dinner and a Show May 21! Enjoy a relaxed dinner before the show with fellow theater-goers, as well as with Prospect's founding members. In addition, a special artistic guest will be present at the dinner to speak about the process of creating the show, and to answer questions. A $50 Patron Dinner ticket covers a pre-dinner drink, a prix-fixe three-course meal (salad, entrée, and dessert / coffee), and a glass of wine with dinner. Additionally, patron dinner participants will receive reserved, prime seating at the performance with their group, so there's no need to worry about rushing to the theater to get good seats. Dinner will begin at 6:15 p.m. prior to the 8:00 p.m. performance, at Le Zoccole, 95 Avenue A (East Village) at 6th St. Performance Schedule: Saturday, April 30 at 8 pm Sunday, May 1 at 3 pm Monday, May 2 at 8 pm Thursday, 5 at 8 pm Friday, May 6 at 8 pm Saturday, May 7 at 8 pm Sunday, May 8 at 3 pm Thursday, May 12 at 8 pm Friday, May 13 at 8 pm Saturday, May 14 at 8 pm Sunday, May 15 at 3 pm* Talkback Performance Wednesday, 18 at 8 pm Thursday, May 19 at 8 pm Friday, May 20 at 8 pm Saturday, May 21 at 8 pm * Dinner & Show Available Sunday, May 22 at 3 pm

Visit the The Pursuit of Persephone (Prospect Theater Company) website:

http://www.prospecttheater.org

NEWS

The Pursuit of Persephone - May 5, 2005

Read more related articles