Sub-Prime Sublime

Various Locations
, , NY 10011
Click for map and directions
No reviews yet. Be the first to write one!WRITE A REVIEW

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

The Bessie and Obie Award-winning Circus Amok Troupe presents free performances of its latest world premiere production, Sub-Prime Sublime in various New York City parks. The show follows the travails of a displaced Dorothy, the latest victim of predatory lending. When Dorothy discovers she can't go home, she embarks on a journey with the Liberty Sisters, the sassiest all-female juggling act since the Flying Karamazov Brothers. Crossing the Alps via tightrope and encountering a magical lost flock of alpine zebras, Dorothy and the Sisters stumble across a Keystone Kops bank heist, only to fall into the world's hottest particle accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider. Circus Amok is a one-ring, no-animal, traveling political circus. The troupe's latest show is inspired by Circus Amok's present, real-life predicament of losing its Williamsburg studio space and the nationwide mortgage debacle where thousands are losing their homes. The company is comprised of Becca Blackwell, Cindy Greenberg, Michelle Matlock, Fernando Nogueira Wanderley, Carlton Ward, and Victor Vauban, Jr. under the direction of ringleader and Circus Amok founder Jennifer Miller. The Circus Amok Band, under the direction of Jenny Romaine, includes Mary Feaster, Lee Frisari, Jessica Lurie, Tina Richerson, and Sarah Ferholt. Performances will take place in Riverside Park (Saturday, September 6 at 2pm and 5pm); Coney Island (Sunday, September 7 at 2pm and 5pm); Martin Luther King Park (Monday, September 8 at 5pm); Fort Greene Park (Wednesday, September 10 at 5:30pm); St. Mary's Park (Friday, September 12 at 5pm); Socrates Sculpture Garden (Saturday, September 13 at 3pm); Prospect Park (Sunday, September 14 at 2pm and 5pm); Columbus Park (Wednesday, September 17 at 5:30pm); Sunset Park (Friday, September 19 at 5:30pm); Washington Square Park (Saturday, September 20 at 2pm and 5pm); Marcus Garvey Park (Sunday, September 21 at 2pm and 5pm); Bedford Playground (Wednesday, September 24 at 5pm); Battery Park (Friday, September 26 at 1pm and 5pm); Seward Park (Saturday, September 27 at 4pm); Tompkins Square Park (Sunday, September 28 at 12pm and 3pm).

Visit the Sub-Prime Sublime website:

http://www.circusamok.org

NEWS

Circus Amok to Present Free Performances in NYC Parks - Aug 20, 2008

Read more related articles