Love Seats for Virginia Woolf

A: D/B project space
116 S Portland Ave, New York, NY 11217
Click for map and directions
No reviews yet. Be the first to write one!WRITE A REVIEW

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

Drawn from diary entries, letters, autobiographical texts, novels and short stories of Virginia Woolf, Love Seats for Virginia Woolf reconstructs the intimate network of relationships and individual accomplishments among four key figures of the Bloomsbury Group: the novelist Virginia Woolf, her husband Leonard Woolf, her painter-sister Vanessa Bell, her writer-friend Lytton Strachey and her lover Vita Sackville-West. In collaboration with architect and designer Annie Coggan and actors Stephen Nisbet and Mia Katigbak, Randy Gener has written and directed an impressionistic play that conveys Coggan?s conceptual ideas about how a visual language can best illustrate a woman?s life. The installation combines four pieces of enamel-finished steel furniture, models, drawings, a changing computer-generated video environment, documentary theater as well as live performance. Admission is FREE PERFORMANCE SCHEDULE: Performances take place 7:30 PM on February 22 (Friday), February 23 (Saturday); February 27 (Wednesday); February 28 (Thursday); March 1 (Friday); March 2 (Saturday); March 13 (Wednesday), March 14 (Thursday), March 15 (Friday), and March 16 (Saturday). There is a special 2 PM Saturday, March 16, which is a $35 per seat benefit for the National Asian American Theatre Company.

Visit the Love Seats for Virginia Woolf website:

http://www.adbps.com