East Side Story

OPENING / CLOSING DATES
Closed

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

East Side Story is two novel performance events, together bringing the past and the present of the East Village onto the Metropolitan Playhouse stage: Alphabet City: An Oral History of the Lower East Side - The life of the East Village lies in the diverse new arrivals and life-long residents who call it their home. A corps of actor/writers were sent into the streets to meet with neighborhood residents and bring their stories to life in four unique evenings of theater: snapshots of the neighborhood featuring a parish priest, a homeless neighbor, a fireman, an artist and an eclectic gallery of local friends. Each evening features new music and a special guest host. East Village Chronicles - 200 years of local history presented through ten new plays, especially commissioned for the Metropolitan stage from up and coming New York playwrights. Schedule: Monday, Jan 19 at 7:30pm - Alphabet City: Volume 1 Tuesday, Jan 20 at 7:30pm - Alphabet City: Volume 2 Thursday, Jan 22 at 8pm - East Village Chronicles: 19th Century Friday, Jan 23 at 8pm - East Village Chronicles: 20th Century Saturday, Jan 24 at 3pm - East Village Chronicles: 19th Century Saturday, Jan 24 at 8pm - East Village Chronicles: 20th Century Monday, Jan 26 at 7:30pm - Alphabet City: Volume 3 Tuesday, Jan 27 at 7:30pm - Alphabet City: Volume 4 Thursday, Jan 29 at 8pm - East Village Chronicles: 19th Century Friday, Jan 30 at 8pm - East Village Chronicles: 20th Century Saturday, Jan 31 at 3pm - East Village Chronicles: 19th Century Saturday, Jan 31 at 8pm - East Village Chronicles: 20th Century

Visit the East Side Story website:

http://www.metropolitanplayhouse.org