Martha Graham Dance Company

New York City Center
130 W 55th St, New York, NY 10105
Click for map and directions
No reviews yet. Be the first to write one!WRITE A REVIEW

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

Don't miss this chance to see the most important contemporary dance company in the world performing two major revivals and a world premiere by Martha Clarke! Costumes reimagined by Oscar de la Renta! The magnificent Martha Graham repertory in its brilliance and passion. No other theatrical experience will excite your senses and replenish your soul so completely. Martha Clarke, noted choreographer and theater artist, will bring to life the theatrical imagery inspired by the Spanish artist Francisco Goya in a world premiere. This is the first commission by the Company's Artistic Directors Terese Capucilli and Christine Dakin. The dance will also feature a commissioned score from Italian composer Franco Piersanti -- the Company's first new score since 1978, reviving Martha Graham's long tradition of working with commissioned music. Artistic collaborators include lighting designer Chris Akerlind, costume designer Donna Zakowski and scenic designer Roberto Hernandez. The repertory also includes revivals of Primitive Mysteries (1931) and Deaths and Entrances (1943). Schedule Wednesday, April 6, at 7:00 pm Thursday, April 7, at 7:30 pm Friday, April 8, at 8:00 pm Saturday, April 9, at 8:00 pm Tuesday, April 12, at 7:30 pm Wednesday, April 13, at 7:30 pm Thursday, April 14, at 7:30 pm Friday, April 15, at 8:00 pm Saturday, April 16, at 2:00 pm Saturday, April 16, at 8:00 pm Sunday, April 17, at 2:00 pm Sunday, April 17, at 7:00 pm

Visit the Martha Graham Dance Company website:

http://www.marthagrahamdance.org