Drama Desk Awards 2009



Click here for complete coverage of the 2009 Drama Desk Awards including a place to vote for the nominees! The 54th Annual Drama Desk Awards will be held on Sunday, May 17th. The event will be web cast LIVE by TheaterMania.com. To watch at home, simply go to www.theatermania.com shortly after 8:00 PM on Sunday, May 17th. You must have an updated version of Adobe flash player in order to watch. To download flash player Click here. The Drama Desk is an organization of theater critics, writers and editors which honors excellence in all areas of New York theatre, including Broadway, Off Broadway, Off Off Broadway and not-for-profit theater. Broadway/TV/Film star HARVEY FIERSTEIN will host. This year's nominees include Brian d'Arcy James (recognized for both Shrek and Port Authority), Raul Esparza (Speed the Plow), Jane Fonda (33 Variations), Sutton Foster (Shrek), Marcia Gay Harden (God of Carnage), Ethan Hawke (The Winter's Tale), Bill Irwin (Waiting for Godot), Angela Lansbury (Blithe Spirit), Janet McTeer (Mary Stuart), Daniel Radcliffe (Equus), Geoffrey Rush (Exit the King), and Campbell Scott (The Atheist). Presenters will include Stockard Channing (a nominee for Pal Joey), John Cullum, Jim Dale, Andre De Shields, John Lithgow, Parker Posey, Tom Wopat, Marin Mazzie, Jason Danieley, Jeff Bowen, Hunter Bell, Susan Blackwell, and Heidi Blickenstaff. Each $225.00 Standard Ticket includes the Red Carpet, the InViolet Repertory Theater reception, and Awards Ceremony - all beginning at 6:45pm. The $850 VIP Gold Ticket includes Premium Seats (1st 4 rows) at the Awards Ceremony, admittance to both the Nominations Announcement at the Friars Club on April 27th and the Nominations Cocktail Party on May 1st; and all receptions on May 17th including the VIP Pre-Party and the VIP Post Awards Show Party at the beautiful Rouge Tomate Restaurant, as well as all transportation to and from Concert Hall courtesy of Gray Line/NY Sightseeing.

Visit the Drama Desk Awards 2009 website:



Billy Elliot Leads Winners of 2009 Drama Desk Awards - May 17, 2009

The Desk Set - May 7, 2009

Drama Queens and Kings - May 4, 2009

Harvey Fierstein to Host 2009 Drama Desk Awards - Mar 25, 2009

Jim Dale and Faith Prince to Announce Drama Desk Nominations on April 27 - Mar 23, 2009

Read more related articles