Madeline Myers is among the Dramatists Guild Fund's 2016-2017 class of DG Fellows.
Madeline Myers is among the Dramatists Guild Fund's 2016-17 class of DG Fellows.
(© Tory Stolper Photography)

The Dramatists Guild Fund has announced the 2016-17 class of DG Fellows, who have been selected for a nine-month intensive designed to train the next generation of American playwrights and musical theater writers.

This year's fellows will be James Christy, Khiyon Hursey, Patricia Ione Lloyd, Michael R. Jackson, C.A. Johnson, David Mallamud, Zoey Martinson, Madeline Myers, Nicole Pandolfo, and Len Schiff. The five playwrights and five musical theater writers were selected from over 250 applications submitted.

Theater writers selected for the program meet with program chairs, guest artists, and industry professionals twice a month for feedback on their works in progress. Fellows also have regular sessions with experienced dramatists for one-on-one mentoring and, when possible, are offered internships or observerships with dramatists involved in professional productions.

Chisa Hutchinson, playwright and 2010-11 Fellow received the inaugural Thom Thomas Award, presented by Janis Purins at Playwrights Horizons. In memory of playwright and book writer Thom Thomas, the award of $10,000 is given annually to an alumnus or alumna of the Fellows Program.