Kevin B. McGlynn and Valerie Fagan inthe Huntington Theatre Company production ofForbidden Broadway: Special Victims Unit(Photo © Eric Antoniou)
Kevin B. McGlynn and Valerie Fagan in
the Huntington Theatre Company production of
Forbidden Broadway: Special Victims Unit
(Photo © Eric Antoniou)
American Repertory Theatre, Huntington Theatre Company, and Lyric Stage Company lead the nominations for the 24th Annual Elliot Norton Awards, which are presented by the Boston Theatre Critics Association and Emerson College. The ceremony will take place on Monday, May 22 at the Cutler Majestic Theatre, beginning at 7pm.

In total, 42 nominees were named in 14 separate categories. Among ART's nominations are No Exit and Oily's Prison for Outstanding Production by a Midsized Resident Company. Huntington's nods include its productions of Forbidden Broadway: Special Victims Unit (Outstanding Visiting Production) and Falsettos (Outstanding Musical Production), while Lyric Stage's nominees include The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia (Outstanding Production by a Midsized Resident Company) and Urinetown (Outstanding Musical Production). Among the other companies with multiple nominations are SpeakEasy Stage Company, Boston Theatre Works, and Commonwealth Shakespeare Company.

Forbidden Broadway is competing against two visiting Broadway shows, the national tours of Monty Python's Spamalot and 700 Sundays; the latter show's star, Billy Crystal, is up for Outstanding Solo Performance opposite fellow Tony Award winner Jefferson Mays for I Am My Own Wife and Aidan Dooley for the Sugan Theatre Company's production of Tom Cream, Antarctic Explorer.

Other acting nominees include Allyn Burrows (The Homecoming and Five by Tenn), Bill Camp (Oily's Prison), Alvin Epstein (King Lear), Jonathan Epstein (Othello), Leslie Lyles (The Hopper Collection), Paula Plum (The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia?), Sandra Shipley (Long Day's Journey Into Night), and Molly Ward (Three Sisters).

Tickets to the awards ceremony are priced at $30 if ordered before May 14 and $35 thereafter. They may be ordered by calling 1-800-223-3123. For a complete list of nominees, visit