Ryan Artzberger, Margot White, et al. Se...
Get Your Irish Up

25th Annual Independent Spirit Awards Are Announced

By New York City
The 25th Annual Independent Spirit Awards were held on Friday, March 5 in Los Angeles and broadcast live on IFC at 8pm. Eddie Izzard hosted the ceremony.

Precious won best feature, best director for Lee Daniels, best first screenplay for Geoffrey Fletcher, best female lead for Gabourey Sidibe, and best supporting female for Mo'Nique. Other acting awards went to Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart and Woody Harrleson for The Messenger.

Stage veterans Colin Firth, Christian McKay, Helen Mirren, Samantha Morton, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Christopher Plummer were among the nominees.

The film A Serious Man won the Robert Altman Award, given to the film's directors, Joel and Ethan Coen, casting directors, Ellen Chenoweth and Rachel Tenner, and ensemble cast members Richard Kind, Sari Lennick, Jessica McManus, Michael Stuhlbarg, and Aaron Wolff.

For more information, visit

comments powered by Disqus

More in Theater News

Get Your Irish Up

Read Now »

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy